It’s been one of those days…

My maternal fetal doctor called today and told us that results from the second amniocentesis confirm that Oliver has Triploidy. With Triploidy, there is no chance for survival, and Oliver will die either within the womb, or shortly after birth. However, my doctor is concerned because I am developing preeclampsia. At times it is difficult for me to breathe because my pulse and blood pressure are high. I typically have LOW blood pressure – it was at or below 90/50 earlier in my pregnancy. I’ve also started getting pains in my left kidney – which can be another indicator of preeclampsia. Therefore, my doctor is scheduling me for an early induction later this week. That day will probably be one of the most difficult days or our lives, but we will get to see our sweet baby boy, and will cherish the short time we will get with him.

Today’s news was really getting to me… Every time I walked into a room of our house, I was reminded in some way that I’m going to lose him. So, we asked my parents if they could come over and help us remove all of the baby items from the house. We had clothes and smaller things stacked up on our sunroom’s bookshelves, a changing table in our bedroom, clothes in our dresser, and tons of stuff in the garage and laundry room. It was heartbreaking to see all of the baby stuff leave the house, but I really feel like we needed to make that step so that when we return from the hospital we can start healing emotionally. We will be going through all of the items when we are emotionally stable enough to do so, and will be donating most of it.

Today we also talked to the kids. This was very very difficult… They know that Oliver is very sick, and will be going to Heaven this week. I promised that they would be able to say their goodbyes before we go to the hospital, and that we would take pictures of him and will hopefully have a tiny urn with his ashes. We also reminded them that Oliver will always be their brother, even while he’s in Heaven.

I will update everyone when we find out which day this week that we will be going to the hospital. Thank you SO SO much for those of you who continue to make donations toward our fundraiser page. John and I are missing a lot of work through all of this, and will have quite a few medical bills in the end. So THANK YOU from the bottom of our hearts – it means the world to us. Also, thank you to those who have offered to help out by bringing food over or watching the kids for us. John can’t cook (sorry John…) and it’s been hard for me to get out of bed most days…so food helps A LOT 🙂

Please continue to pray that we have strength through these times. We have to remind ourselves daily that God is not doing this to us, but that He will get us through this.

~April

12 thoughts on “It’s been one of those days…

  1. April and John,
    Prayers to you and the entire family from me and my family. Oliver is in God’s loving hands and he knows best. If there is anything I can do, please let me know.
    Love,
    Tena Eddy and family

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Life Happens and commented:
    April and John are going through a seriously rough time. I can’t imagine the pain they are feeling right now. Please say a little or BIG prayer for them if you are inclined. As I told her earlier today I heard a little voice in my head that said “A purpose for Oliver” I know it is impossible for April and John to even begin to understand why this is happening to them and what the purpose is. But I know God will not give them more than they can endure. So in this terrible time, they struggle to understand but God has his hands around them and waits for Oliver to return to him. But I do believe in all my heart he has a purpose. If only for a moment on this earth. And one day, when the pain has healed a little and they can begin to breath again, I pray they will understand and know little Oliver’s purpose. Please Pray for Healing!

    Like

  3. April if you need anything please let me know. Or have someone in your family message me. I can baby sit or bring y’all dinner. Seriously. Prayers for y’all. You’ve been on my mind a lot and I pray for peace for you and your family. I am so sorry

    Like

  4. I know y’all don’t know us from Adam’s housecat, but we are praying for y’all. God bless you through this difficult time.

    Like

  5. We’re always here if you need anything. Ronnie and I are both praying for all of you and of course, Oliver.
    God has you and your sweet baby in the palm of his hand. Trust that all things will work out in the end. We love you.

    Like

  6. You have been in my thoughts and prayers throughout this pregnancy, Mrs. Parmer. God is an ever present help in times of trouble and that is what you need now. God bless you and you family. Prayers will continue for you and your family

    Like

  7. April, I can’t even begin to imagine how difficult this is for you. My heart hurts for you and your family, and I have been praying for you since I first learned the news. Today, I pray for strength and peace and will continue praying for healing in the days to come. Finally, I pray God showers his blessings on you and your precious family.

    Love to you all,
    Teresa Carns Daley

    Like

  8. April, John and kids,
    There are no words that can comfort or heal your hearts in this unimaginable time. I have followed your story for a few weeks now and I am continuously praying for you. I hope that you can feel the love and prayers around you. I pray that God wraps His arms tightly around you. I pray that you find some comfort in Him. Most of all, I pray that you get precious time with your angel before he gains his wings. Kiss his face, breathe in his scent and hold him for a long as you can for you are the mother of a baby that was always destined to be angel. ❤️🙏🏼

    Isaiah 41:10 “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

    Isaiah 43:2 “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.”

    All my love,
    Tina

    Like

Leave a Reply

